My First Wood Thrush!

   Not four days ago, I went on abirding trip on our property, trying to get a photo of a blue jay. But I decided to travel I route I had never taken before... I blazed a new path. I went over a bridge, up a hill, across the top, down the same hill, and up to the creek. There seemed to be quite a bit of activity. There were about 30 American robins (which is uncommon this time of year), some carolina chickadees, a nuthatch or two, and a catbird. I also wasa surprised to see a warbler species hopping aout high in the tree tops. I wasn't able to see it good enough to identify it, though. I also saw what I assumed was a robin, but once zoomed in to 30X, I saw that it was not a robin, but my first ever wood thrush! It looked alot like a robin in shape and size, because robins are in the thrush family. Though I have heard many wood thrushes, I have never seen one because of their habit to skulk deep in the woods on the ground under thick tangles of vegitation. However, I was lucky to get a mediocre photo, which I will not post here due to the large file size. I will, though, post a link to the wood thrush ID on Cornell Lab's AllAboutBirds.org website, where you can view cool facts, a picture, song recording, and nesting, feeding, and other information about the wood thrush.

 Wood thrushes are actually the owner of the all-time favorite bird song. I will post a recording of their song from Xeno-Canto.org below:

BE SURE TO TURN YOUR VOLUME UP!

 

CHECK OUT THE WOOD THRUSH PHOTO AND INFO BY CLICKING HERE!

 

Comment on this article!

change

xeno changed the sound file look once it is embedded!

New comment