Dove Season Begins Sept. 1

I love birds. No matter how you look at it I love birds. I love to watch bird, photograph birds, and yes, I love to eat birds. That is why I am so excited about the beginning of the Ohio dove hunting seson which begins on Sunday, September 1st. That's when it's time to head to the field, bag a few doves, pluck them and clean them and freeze them. Then when you have enough bread them and fry them up. True, they do have a 'game' taste. They aren't as mild as store bought chicken or turkey, but they are quite tasty when prepared correctly. As you may know, I am also a deer hunter. While I think that venison tastes no different than beef, others think otherwise. In the case of dove, however, I admit that they do have a distinct game taste, but once again, they are pretty good if prepared right.

Comment on this article!

No comments found.

New comment