Bird Feeder Lists

   If you are an avid bird watcher, then you probably feed the birds. If not, you should start, and here is why.

If you are a bird watcher, then you obviously like to see birds, and lots of 'em. When feeding birds during the winter you can often see at least 15 species in a day, sometimes more. Also, it is a good way to increase your chances of seeing some migratory winter birds that you might otherwise miss. Just such a situtation occured yesterday when, for the first time, I saw a female Purple Finch at my bird feeders. This is not the only time that I have spotted a lifer because of my bird feeders. I added the Red-Breasted Nuthatch and Pine Siskin, among others, in just this way. So what's the bottom line? If you don't feed birds, you should start.

Posted below is a less-than-spectacular photo that I snapped of the Purple Finch that paid a friendly visit to my feeders.

Purple Finch photo DSC09905_zpstmwuzs3l.jpg

Female Purple Finch