"The Best Day of Birdwatching in My Life" Webmaster...

Life List Goes Up 4 In One Day Birding In The Woods Behind His House.

 

   Today was the best birdwatching day of my life. This is a big claim, but it truly was. I added four new species to my life list, and all of the birds were seen right in the woods. Didn't have to travel anywhere, and one of the birds was one I had wanted to see for a very long time. I just can write how wonderful a trip this was. The best! Wow! If every birdwatching trip was this succesful, birdwatching wouldn't be a challenge. Birdwatchers would want trips without this many so it would feel challenging. Am I overreacting? I don't know, I don't think so. This trip was simply amazing!

 

   Lets start off with a checklist of all of the birds I saw during the birdwatching trip today (as seen in my eBird report):

 

Location: ______________ Birding Area, Ohio, US
Date and Effort: Sun Oct 07, 2012 1:15 PM
Protocol:
Traveling
Party Size:
1
Duration:
2 hour(s)
Distance:
0.7 mile(s)
Observers:
Junior Barnes
Comments:
Best birding trip yet!
Species
26 species (+1 other taxa) total
1
Turkey Vulture
2
Mourning Dove
3
Red-bellied Woodpecker
6
Downy Woodpecker
2
Northern Flicker
1
Eastern Wood-Pewee
1
Bell's Vireo

Saw clearly through binoculars. No doubt about what it was.

Age & Sex
  Juvenile Immature Adult Age Unknown
Male        
Female        
Sex Unknown     1  
5
Blue Jay
1
American Crow
2
Carolina Chickadee
2
Tufted Titmouse
3
White-breasted Nuthatch
1
Brown Creeper
1
House Wren
1
Carolina Wren
1
Golden-crowned Kinglet

Saw through binoculars. First ever for me.

1
Ruby-crowned Kinglet
1
American Robin
1
Gray Catbird
1
Northern Mockingbird
1
Common Yellowthroat
1
Cape May Warbler
30
Yellow-rumped Warbler
2
warbler sp.
30
Field Sparrow
1
Song Sparrow
1
Northern Cardinal
Are you submitting a complete checklist of the birds you were able to identify?
Yes

 

   Yes, no lies, I saw every single species listed. 28 species! A Bell's Vireo is very rare in Ohio this time of year. It was just an amazing trip. The four birds added to my life list were the Brown Creeper (wahoo!), whick I have always wanted to see, the Cap May Warbler, Golden-Crowned Kinglet, and the last was a warbler species that I haven't identified yet.

 

 Oh boy. This article would be extremely lengthy if I could express how truly wonderful this trip was. Simply amazing!

I saw some white-throated sparrows later that evening, and heard a great-horned owl. If you haven't ever been outside at dusk and heard the hooting of a great-horned owl, you don't know how sad, aggravating, and some other word I can't think of at the moment it is to realize that you can't pursue it even though you have never seen one before, because it is to dark. It is very annoying. Sad. Aggravating. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrr!

 

  But boy, that was one great trip! Wonderful! Enough of that...

 

Now I have a bird feeder up back there, and I am REALLY hoping that the Brown Creeper finds it, as well as the Carolina Wrens. I just love Brown Creepers. And nuthatches. Just one off-topic funny note: I saw a bird quiz recently and the brown creeper was the subject. The answer said:

 

Answer: Brown Creeper

38 People Guessed Brown Creeper

1 Person Guessed Crowned Beeper.

 

CROWNED BEEPER! HA! That is very funny!

Okay, enough with this. I'll just sum it up to say that this trip was fantastically stupendous!

 

PS

There were about 30 Yellow-Rumped Warblers in all!

 

 

Comment on this article!

No comments found.

New comment