8 New Birds on the Life List

During a recent trip to Magee Marsh and Ottawa National Wildlife Refuge (ONWR), I added 8 species to my life list while visiting various locations around the lake. The first night on the nature trail at East Harbor State Park, I saw for the first time a Canada Warbler. The other birds that I saw (which were not new) were Cedar Waxwings, Mallards, Ring-Billed Gulls and Song Sparrows. On the beach I saw many more Ring-Billed gulls, Double-Crested Cormorants, more Mallards, Killdeer, and for the first time, a Lesser Black-Backed Gull was sitting on one of the breakers, about an eighth of a mile out. Due to it's large size compared to the other gulls, and the fact that it's back was to me and I could only see it's dark back and white head, I first thought it was an eagle. When it turned it's head, however, I could see that the bill was that of a gull, not an eagle.

   The next day at Magee Marsh I saw, for the first time, a Blue-Gray Gnatcatcher, Magnolia Warbler, and what I presume to be a Worm-Eating Warbler (I am still investigating that one). The other birds that I saw were all in a 'clump'. Most of the trail had been void of birds, but when I stumbled on this area of the bordwalk, it was teaming with birds. I saw Brown Thrashers, Catbirds, Common Yellowthroats, Song Sparrows, Red-Bellied Woodpeckers, Downy Woodpeckers, one Pileated Woodpecker (which is rare for the area this time of year), Eastern Wood-Pewee's, and Black-Capped Chickadees. This is the same exact area that I saw the Magnolia Warblers, Blue-Gray Gnatcatchers, and the presumed Worm-Eating Warbler.

   Along the Crane Creek Nature Trail (right near the boardwalk at Magee Marsh), I saw a Herring Gull for the first time ever, and also many Common Terns. Also a duck species, which I have not yet identified. The complete list of birds added to my life list during this trip is given below.

  • Magnolia Warbler
  • Blue-Gray Gnatcatcher
  • Worm-Eating Warbler (presumed)
  • Common Tern
  • Herring Gull
  • Canada Warbler
  • Lesser Black-Backed Gull
  • Duck species (not yet identified)

Comment on this article!

No comments found.

New comment